The executive consists of officers (one or two convenors, a secretary, a treasurer, and education officer and a media officer), supported by an executive secretary.

The convenors of HistoryUK represent the organisation and the interests of History in Higher Education through a range of activities. They liaise with sister organisations (the Royal Historical Society, the Institute for Historical Research, the Historical Association and the Higher Education Academy) on an ad hoc basis and through the regular meetings of the History Subject Association and the History Forum. They also contribute to campaigns on matters of interest to departments.

The executive is currently configured as follows:


Dr. Heather Shore (Leeds Beckett, 2016)  heathershore
Dr. Lucinda Matthews-Jones (Liverpool John Moores, 2017)


Dr. Daniel Grey (Plymouth, 2013) Daniel Grey


Dr Richard Hawkins (Wolverhampton, 2015) Richard Hawkins

Media Officer:

Dr. Jamie Wood (Lincoln, 2014) Jamie Wood

Education Officer:

Dr Peter D’Sena (Hertfordshire, 2017)  

Research Officer:

To be appointed

Executive Secretary:

Sue Davison (IHR)