Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (formalised in 1992) consists of up to 30 elected members, together with one postgraduate representative, up to two co-opted members, and representatives of the Historical Association and the Royal Historical Society. The Steering Committee endeavours to represent all sectors of HE (Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales, and Colleges and Institutes of HE).

The current members are as follows (date of election in brackets):

Ex officio:

Economic History Society:

Dr Karin Dannehl (Wolverhampton, 2014): website




Karin Dannehl
ECR representative:
Simon Peplow (Exeter, 2017)  

Elected members (up to 30):

Rachel Bright (Keele, 2012): website




Rachel Bright

Bill Aird (Edinburgh, 2013): website


Sarah Bastow (Huddersfield, 2013): website


Sarah Bastow

Kate Hill (Lincoln, 2013): website




Kate Hill

Charles Insley (Manchester, 2013): website




Charles Insley

Ariel Hessayon (Goldsmiths, 2014): website




Ariel Hessayon

Rachel Lock-Lewis (South Wales, 2014): website





Sara Wolfson (Canterbury Christ Church, 2014): website




Sara Wolfson 2
Kate Bradley (Kent, 2015): website
Sabine Clarke (York, 2015): website  
Martin Johnes (Swansea, 2015): website  
Alison Hems (Bath Spa, 2015): website  
Ian Talbot (Southampton, 2015): website  
Sarah Miller-Davenport (Sheffield, 2015): website  
Juliane Fuerst (Bristol, 2015): website  
Neil Fleming (Worcester, 2015): website
Hannah Burrows (Aberdeen, 2016): website
Manuela Williams (Strathclyde, 2017): website  
David Stack (Reading, 2017): website  
Adam Morton (Newcastle, 2017): website  
Mike Rapport (Glasgow, 2017): website  
Efram Sera-Shriar (Leeds Trinity, 2017): website  
Nandini Chatterjee (Exeter, 2017): website  
Euryn Roberts (Bangor, 2017): website  
Charlie Whitham (Edgehillm, 2017): website  
Alex Titov (Queens University Belfast, 2017): website  
Stewart McCain (St Mary’s University, London, 2017): website